The Silsila

The Chain of Transmission within a Sufi order is of central importance in the Sufi work. It is a major conduit of the baraka (light) of any genuine Sufi school, and links the mureeds (students) of that order with the combined spiritual power of their spiritual antecedents and with the unseen transformative forces that transpire behind the outward manifestation of the Chain, which is called the Silsila (“chain” or “pedigree”). The Silsila is recited at pivotal occasions such as the group Dhikr of the order, or at initiations. Working backward, experientially contacting and effacing oneself in each being in the chain is considered a necessary development of the practice known as Tasawwuri Murshid.

The representation of the chain of transmission is called the Shajara (tree). The Shajara which appears here is that of Hazrat Pir-o-Murshid Inayat Khan, who was, in fact, initiated into the four major Sufi lineages in India. It is worth noting that at any juncture, there may be several shaykhs authorized to carry on a lineage. A Shajara is a tracing of initiatic ancestry rather than a representation of the full flow of baraka from the Source.

Hazrat Jibra’il
Hazrat Khwaja Muhammad Rasul Allah
Hazrat Khwaja ‘Ali Wali Allah
Hazrat Khwaja Hasan Basri
Hazrat Khwaja ‘Abd al-Wahid bin Zayd
Hazrat Khwaja Fuzayl bin ‘Iyaz
Hazrat Khwaja Ibrahim Adham
Hazrat Khwaja Huzayfa Mar’ishi
Hazrat Khwaja Hubayra Basri
Hazrat Khwaja Mumshad ‘Ulu Dinwari
Hazrat Khwaja Abu Ishaq Shami
Hazrat Khwaja Abu Ahmad Abdal Chishti
Hazrat Khwaja Abu Muhammad Chishti
Hazrat Khwaja Abu Yusuf Chishti
Hazrat Khwaja Qutbuddin Mawdud Chishti
Hazrat Khwaja Hajji Sharif Zindani
Hazrat Khwaja ‘Usman Harvani
Hazrat Khwaja Mu’inuddin Hasan Sanjari-Ajmiri
Hazrat Khwaja Qutbuddin Mas’ud Bakhtiyar Kaki
Hazrat Khwaja Fariduddin Ganj-i Shakar Ajhodani
Hazrat Khwaja Nizamuddin Mahbub-i Ilahi Badauni
Hazrat Khwaja Nasiruddin Chiragh Dihlavi
Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha’ikh Kamaluddin ‘Allama
Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha’ikh Sirajuddin
Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha’ikh ‘Ilmuddin
Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha’ikh Mahmud Rajan
Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha’ikh Jamaluddin Jamman
Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha’ikh Hasan Muhammad
Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha’ikh Muhammad A’zam
Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha’ikh Yahya Madani
Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha’ikh Shah Kalim Allah Jahanabadi
Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha’ikh Nizamuddin Awrangabadi
Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha’ikh Maulana Fakhruddin
Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha’ikh Ghulam Qutbuddin
Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha’ikh Nasiruddin Mahmud Kali Shah
Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha’ikh Muhammad Hasan Jili Kalimi
Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha’ikh Muhammad Abu Hashim Madani
Hazrat Pir-o-Murshid ‘Inayat Khan
Hazrat Pirzadi-Shahida Noor-un-Nisa Inayat Khan
Hazrat Pir Vilayat ‘Inayat Khan
Sajjadanishin Zia Inayat-Khan ‘urf Sarafil Bawa

For futher details on the Chistiyya see